Dr Davidson Ateh, CEO of BioMoti and Researcher at Queen Mary, University of London, was shortlisted for this year’s Biotechnology and Biological Sciences Research Council’s (BBSRC) Innovator of the Year award. The winners were announced at the Bioscience for Growth networking event that included keynote addresses by Jeremy Webb, Editor-in-Chief of New Scientist and Rt Hon David Willetts MP, Minister of State for Universities and Science. Dr Ateh was runner-up to Professor Keith Waldron of the BBSRC Institute of Food Research in the Most Promising Innovator category and commented: “I heartily congratulate Professor Waldron for his excellent innovation and win, creating novel peat equivalents from food chain waste, and wish him all the best going forward. For us, it is simply great to be shortlisted for this prestigious national award and benefit from the associated recognition, we continue developing our exciting oncojan™ drug delivery technology that has been generously supported by BBSRC funding and are making progress with our lead candidate for ovarian cancer.”

Winners and runner-ups for the Innovator of the Year 2011 also included: Professor Jason Swedlow (Overall and Social Innovator of the Year winner), Dr Siobhan Abeyesinghe (Social Innovator of the Year runner-up), Professor Christopher Lowe (Commercial Innovator of the Year winner) and Dr Curtis Dobson (Commercial Innovator of the Year runner-up).

For further details, please visit the BBSRC website.